

CHINA MERCHANTS BANK CO., LTD.

(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (stock code: 3968)

Overseas Regulatory Announcement Announcement in respect of the Resolutions Passed at the 15th Meeting of the Seventh Session of the Board of Directors of China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd.

This announcement is made by China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The 15th Meeting of the Seventh Session of the Board of Directors of the Company was convened by resolution in writing on 4 February 2008 in compliance with the Company Law and the Articles of Association of the Company. All 18 Directors who were entitled to vote at the Meeting had voted. Resolutions regarding the members and chairman for each of the following designated committees under the Board of Directors were considered and passed:

- Strategic Committee of the Board of Directors Members: Fu Yunning, Wei Jiafu, Wang Daxiong, Fu Junyuan, Ma Weihua Chairman: Fu Yunning
- Nomination Committee of the Board of Directors Members: Fu Yunning, Ma Weihua, Yan Lan, Liu Yongzhang, Liu Hongxia Chairman: Yan Lan
- 3. Remuneration and Appraisal Committee of the Board of Directors Members: Li Yinquan, Fu Junyuan, Liu Yongzhang, Wu Jiesi, Yi Xiqun Chairman: Wu Jiesi
- 4. Risk Management Committee of the Board of Directors Members: Sun Yueying, Hong Xiaoyuan, Wang Daxiong, Li Hao, Yi Xiqun Chairman: Hong Xiaoyuan
- Audit Committee of the Board of Directors Members: Sun Yueying, Ding An Hua Edward, Chow Kwong Fai Edward, Liu Hongxia, Yan Lan Chairman: Liu Hongxia

6. Related Party Transactions Control Committee of the Board of Directors Members: Hong Xiaoyuan, Zhang Guanghua, Wu Jiesi, Chow Kwong Fai Edward, Liu Hongxia Chairman: Chow Kwong Fai Edward

Board of Directors China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd.

4 February 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Ma Weihua, Zhang Guanghua and Li Hao; the non-executive directors of the Company are Qin Xiao, Wei Jiafu, Fu Yunning, Li Yinquan, Hong Xiaoyuan, Ding An Hua Edward, Sun Yueying, Wang Daxiong and Fu Junyuan; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Wu Jiesi, Yan Lan, Yi Xiqun, Chow Kwong Fai Edward, Liu Yongzhang and Liu Hongxia.