Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



招商銀行股份有限公司 CHINA MERCHANTS BANK CO., LTD.

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock code: 03968)

ANNOUNCEMENT IN RELATION TO THE APPROVAL OF THE APPOINTMENT QUALIFICATION OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Reference is made to the Resolution regarding the Election of Mr. Li Jianhong as a Non-executive Director, which was considered and approved at the 2013 Annual General Meeting of the China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. (the "Company") (among others).

The Company has today received the "Approval from China Banking Regulatory Commission, Shenzhen Office on Qualification of Li Jianhong as a Director of China Merchants Bank" (Shen Yin Jian Fu [2014] No. 213), approving the qualification of Mr. Li Jianhong for serving as a Director of China Merchants Bank. Mr. Li Jianhong will serve as a Non-executive Director of the Ninth Session of the Board of Directors of the Company, with effect from 4 July 2014 to the expiration of the Ninth Session of the Board of Directors of the Company.

For the biographies of Mr. Li Jianhong, please refer to the "Announcement on Inclusion of an Additional Resolution for Approval at the 2013 Annual General Meeting" dated 4 June 2014 on the websites of the Company and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By Order of the Board
China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd.
Xu Shiqing Seng Sze Ka Mee Natalia
Joint Company Secretaries

4 July 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Tian Huiyu, Zhang Guanghua and Li Hao; the non-executive directors of the Company are Fu Yuning, Li Jianhong, Ma Zehua, Li Yinquan, Fu Gangfeng, Hong Xiaoyuan, Sun Yueying and Fu Junyuan; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Xu Shanda, Wong Kwai Lam, Pan Chengwei, Pan Yingli, Guo Xuemeng and Xiao Yuhuai.