

## 招商銀行股份有限公司

## CHINA MERCHANTS BANK CO., LTD.

(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (stock code: 3968)

## APPOINTMENT AND RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Reference is made to the announcement of China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. (the "**Company**") dated 28 September 2007 in which Mr. Song Lin's resignation as an independent non-executive director of the Company was mentioned. Reference is further made to the circular of the Company dated 8 October 2007 in which the election of Mr. Yi Xiqun ("**Mr. Yi**") as an independent non-executive director of the Company at the Company's 2007 first extraordinary general meeting was mentioned. The Board of Directors of the Company (the "**Board**") announces that in accordance with an approval from the China Banking Regulatory Commission ("**CBRC**") received by the Company on 24 January 2008, the appointment of Mr. Yi as the independent non-executive director of the same time, Mr. Song Lin's resignation as the independent non-executive director of the Company laso took effect from 14 January 2008. Mr. Song confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board.

Mr. Yi, aged 61, graduated from Beijing Chemical Institute in 1975 and obtained a postgraduate degree in economics and management engineering from Tsinghua University in 1982. From 1986 to 1987, Mr. Yi was in charge of the Beijing Municipal Government Economic Structure Reform Committee and from 1987 to 1991, he served as the Chief Executive Officer of Xicheng District of Beijing. Since 1991, Mr. Yi has been an assistant to the Mayor of Beijing as well as Director of the Economic and Foreign Trade Commission of Beijing Municipality and the Management Committee of the Beijing Economic and Technology Development Zone. Mr. Yi has in-depth knowledge and a wealth of experience in macroeconomic and microeconomic management. Mr. Yi was appointed as the general manager of Beijing Holdings Limited, a subsidiary of Beijing Enterprises Group, and the director of Beijing Enterprises Holdings Limited (a company listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited) in 1999. In 2003, Mr. Yi became the chairman of Beijing Holdings Limited as well as the chairman of the board of director of Beijing Enterprises Holdings Limited, and later became the chairman of Beijing Enterprises Group Company Limited in December 2004. Mr. Yi has also been the independent non-executive director of SOHO China Limited (a company listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited) since May 2007. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Yi does not hold any directorships in listed public companies in the past three years.

Mr. Yi's appointment as the independent non-executive director is for a term expiring upon the expiration of the term of the seventh session of the Board. The annual remuneration before tax of Mr. Yi is RMB300,000. Mr. Yi does not have any relationship with any other directors, supervisors or senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company, nor does he have any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

In addition, there is no other information in relation to Mr. Yi which is discloseable pursuant to any of the requirements set out in Rules 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") nor is he involved in any of the matters required to be disclosed pursuant to the Listing Rules.

Save as disclosed herein, there are no other matters relating to the appointment and resignation of independent non-executive directors that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

By order of the Board of China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. Qin Xiao Chairman

25 January 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Ma Weihua, Zhang Guanghua and Li Hao; the non-executive directors of the Company are Qin Xiao, Wei Jiafu, Fu Yuning, Li Yinquan, Hong Xiaoyuan, Ding An Hua Edward, Sun Yueying, Wang Daxiong and Fu Junyuan; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Wu Jiesi, Yan Lan, Yi Xiqun, Chow Kwong Fai, Edward, Liu Yongzhang and Liu Hongxia.