Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

This announcement appears for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer to acquire, purchase or subscribe for any securities.



招商銀行股份有限公司

CHINA MERCHANTS BANK CO., LTD.

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(H Share Stock Code: 03968)

(Preference Share Stock Code: 04614)

ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING THE APPROVAL FROM CSRC IN RELATION TO THE APPLICATION FOR THE NON-PUBLIC ISSUANCE OF DOMESTIC PREFERENCE SHARES

China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. (the "Company") has recently received the "Approval regarding the Non-public Issuance of Preference Shares by China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd." (Zheng Jian Xu Ke [2017] No. 2198) from the China Securities Regulatory Commission (the "CSRC"), which the CSRC approved the Company's non-public issuance of no more than 275 million preference shares in the domestic market. The approval shall be effective for 24 months starting from the date of the approval of the issuance.

The board of directors of the Company will deal with the relevant matters in respect of the non-public issuance of domestic preference shares in accordance with the relevant laws and regulations and the requirements set out in the relevant approvals from the regulatory authorities including the CSRC and the authorisations granted by the shareholders' general meeting of the Company, and fulfil its relevant information disclosure obligations.

By order of the Board
China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd.
Wang Liang Seng Sze Ka Mee Natalia
Joint Company Secretaries

6 December 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Tian Huiyu and Li Hao; the non-executive directors of the Company are Li Jianhong, Li Xiaopeng, Sun Yueying, Fu Gangfeng, Hong Xiaoyuan, Su Min, Zhang Jian and Wang Daxiong; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Leung Kam Chung, Antony, Wong Kwai Lam, Pan Chengwei, Pan Yingli, Zhao Jun and Wong See Hong.