Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



招商銀行股份有限公司 CHINA MERCHANTS BANK CO., LTD.

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock code: 03968)

ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE APPROVAL TO THE QUALIFICATIONS OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

On 2 December 2016, China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. (the "Company" or "China Merchants Bank") received the "Approval of the China Banking Regulatory Commission on the Qualifications of Zhang Jian and Wang Daxiong for Appointment in China Merchants Bank" (Yin Jian Fu [2016] No. 392), pursuant to which the qualifications of Mr. Zhang Jian and Mr. Wang Daxiong as directors of China Merchants Bank had been approved.

The term of Mr. Zhang Jian and Mr. Wang Daxiong as non-executive directors of the Tenth Session of the Board of Directors of the Company has taken effect from 21 November 2016, being the date of approval to their qualifications by the China Banking Regulatory Commission, and until the expiration of the term of the Tenth Session of the Board of Directors of the Company.

For the biographical details of Mr. Zhang Jian and Mr. Wang Daxiong, please refer to the announcement of the Company dated 28 April 2016, which was published on the websites of the Company and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board of Directors

China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd.

5 December 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Tian Huiyu and Li Hao; the non-executive directors of the Company are Li Jianhong, Li Xiaopeng, Sun Yueying, Fu Gangfeng, Hong Xiaoyuan, Su Min, Zhang Jian and Wang Daxiong; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Leung Kam Chung, Antony, Wong Kwai Lam, Pan Chengwei, Pan Yingli, Guo Xuemeng and Zhao Jun.